I Am Black, I Am.

Are you #TeamLightskin? #TeamBrownskin or  #TeamDarkskin?

Sound familiar? How many of you are sick of this ‘battle’? I open Twitter or Whatsapp everyday to see yet another image or tweet pertaining to this ‘battle’.

I’m not going to be a hypocrite & say some of these ‘memes’ don’t make me chuckle, but what concerns me is the ignorance behind the ‘banter’. In a society where racial prejudice thrives in politics, communities, institutions and popular culture, it’s easy to see how and why some ethnic groups may start to absorb the messages that we are being bombarded with from every medium.

I am 1 of 5 sisters, 2 of whom are mixed race. We have all grown up together despite us having different mothers. Something which I sincerely thank my dad for; I know a lot of ‘step families’ who don’t have that close sibling relationship they may have liked to have.

When I meet someone new my siblings always come up in conversation, almost at the first instance. As I start to explain my diverse family tree, I get interrupted with “can I see a picture of them?” The reaction is almost always the same:

“Aaawww, they’re so pretty, are they really your REAL sisters?”

After explaining & having to proving beyond reasonable doubt that they are, in fact, my biological sisters as appose to ‘sister’ being a term of endearment. This is quickly followed by:

 

“… But you’re pretty for a dark skin woman”

If I had a pound for every time this has been said to me, I’d be a very wealthy woman!! This is something I have unfortunately had to just get used to.

Image

Dark Girls

COLOURISM; prejudice or discrimination based on the complexion of the skin. Generally a phenomena occurring within one’s own ethnic group.

 

I don’t know about you, but the last time I checked we were all black; many, many shades. And they are as beautiful as the other. So why is there this internal battle? Why do some have this sense of superiority just because of the complexion of their skin?

Lets go back in time…

Now, of course I know this isn’t a new phenomenon. The issue of colourism (a term coined in the US by Alice Walker in 1982) has been around from the history of European colonisation. With the global colonisation came not only a physical, but also a cultural invasion, which completely shifted the perspective of people by creating a new sense of beauty, identity & superiority. Colonisation spread the idea, the system of white supremacy.

The act of giving better treatment to the lighter skinned slaves served as a tool for the slave owners to keep a divide & tension between the two sets of slaves. The light skin or ‘mulatto’ children were the by-product of slave owners copulating with their slave women. They were treated better than the African slave, but still beneath the slave owner, never really fitting into either society.

Image

 House Slave

Darker skinned slaves, or those with more pronounced ‘African features’ would usually encounter more difficult living conditions on the plantation. They were usually housed far from the plantation house, and in close proximity to the fields that they were forced to work. Dark skinned slaves were given the most demanding jobs, the most basic living quarters, and the least appealing clothing. These are but some of the factors that have contributed to growth of this cultural divide.

Image

 Field Slave

The Impact…

After extended periods of mistreatment all blacks reached the point of psychological exhaustion, and began to accept the belief that there was a racial hierarchy based on their skin tone; colourism. This psychological conditioning has been passed down from generation to generation. So not only do we deal with the external prejudice, but the inherited belief system causing internalised racism.

The mainstream media continue to reinforce the ideal that the Eurocentric standard of beauty is the epitome. This is reinforced not only by the under representation, but also the misrepresentation of black people. We are also seeing a growing number black stars being ‘whitened up’ to adhere to the European standards of beauty.

Image

 Nicki Minaj

Recently, ex The X Factor contestant Hannah Barrett was racially abused via Twitter for being ‘too dark to win The X Factor and claimed the abuse came mostly from people from her own race people. http://www.voice-online.co.uk/article/too-dark-win-x-factor

Have you also noticed the growing number of cosmetic shops set up in ‘urban’ areas stocked up with more and more varieties of skin bleaching/whitening creams? Despite the risks that come with the excessive use of these products, including Cancer, it hasnt stopped people wanting to have lighter skin to be considered ‘beautiful.’ http://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-428541/Dying-whiter-The-black-women-risk-lives-lighter-skin.html

Beauty comes in many different shade, no matter what race you are. How can we possibly subscribe to 1 standard of beauty when there’s so much diversity in the world? The very standard of beauty that has being forced on us by the very same system that enslaved us & conditioned us to believe that white meant superior and black was ugly!

 

Now I’m not saying I have all the answers… Sorry Kanye, you’re right,  I don’t. In order for us to continue to break down more barriers that society puts up, the first thing we need to do is to educate, love and build ourselves and to understand our entire history in real terms to make it relatable today; not a white-washed version. With that we’ll rediscover the value of community and our collective consciousness, for the saying goes ‘United we stand. Divided we fall.’

“If you want to change a person, you must first change the awareness of themselves” – it starts with consciousness”

Cheryl Grills – President at The Association of Black Psychologists

THINK… IT’S STILL LEGAL!!!

16 thoughts on “I Am Black, I Am.

  1. This is a great piece of work. Very inspiring, interlectual and capturing. This piece speaks volumes. Would have been nice to read your interpretation on govermential colourism suppression which would have empowered this piece further. But i suppose theres always room for another episode. Well done xx

  2. Queen! Bless You! What an interesting & well written read. You touched on some interesting points, Glad you did! As a Dark Skin Male I could go on and on how it’s affected my life & @ 1 point in my life hated my self. There are some people out there that need this kind of info to read so they can get understanding & knowledge of self, and realise the media (tell-lie-Vision) have been destroying & dumbing us down as a people. You brought relevant and up to date news and history (facts) to your blog with your own personal experiances. This felt genuinely like you wanted to get this off your chest. I feel you on this passionately. Bless up Black SisStar!

  3. Very engaging peice of writing as this is a controversial topic. Very informative coupled with alot of knowledgeable facts that got my thought process thinking deeply in that direction.

  4. This is a well researched, well executed passage of information. Its a shame you’ve been hiding your light under a bushel for so long Cherry. This is you, and we need more of it. ENCORE.

  5. This is a great post and the subject matter is one we’ve wrestled with for years. I have a similar mixed family make up so shadeism can never be allowed to stand in around my family and friends. We constantly challenge it. So glad to see a young person pick up the mantle and run with it.

  6. Oh WOW. This is EXCELLENT. It’s time a blog like this goes Viral instead of Mylies Tongue & Twerking nonsense! Outstanding first blog, well done Cherry. X

  7. Well worded, factual and to the point, I enjoyed reading this fully. Keep it up cherry, the blog was thought provoking. The more people that are fortunate to come across things like this, the more that you promt to think and seek to further educate themselves. Ill be lookin forward to part 2 😉

  8. Great read. Wasn’t going to read at first because of the topic, but once I started reading im glad I did. I was truly educated.. I love black people dispute skin tone.

  9. Glad that I took the time to sit down and read this. Such a beautifully written, thought provoking piece. This is definitely the kind of reading that should out there, educating our minds instead of some of the things out there at the moment that are considered “news” or topics of interest. This is definitely something that I can relate to as it took me a long time to love the skin I’m in irrespective of its shade! Fantastic job Cherry, cannot wait to read your next post!

Leave a comment